The Cost and Legal Implications of a First Time DUI

Each year, police arrest around 1.5 million people for DUI charges. Learn more about the costs and legal implications associated with a first offense DUI.

Nearly 1 out of every 120 drivers gets arrested for a DUI. Not only does drunk driving endanger the lives of others, but it drains your wallet and has lasting negative effects.

It’s not just repeat offenders who have to pay a pretty penny, either. Even your first DUI is expensive. It’s better to be aware of the costs than remain in the dark about it.

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI your best bet is to hire an attorney immediately to help build your defense strategy and avoid conviction.

Here’s what you should know about the average cost of a first time DUI conviction:

First Offense DUI Cost

The cost of a DUI (even a first offense) can be anywhere from $10,000 to $25,000 or more. Fines, fees, ignition interlock devices, time off work, increased insurance rates, etc.. all add up quickly!

Think about it: The cost of bail alone ranges between $100 to $2,500. A car-towing service and impound fees can vary between $100 to $1,200.

You’ll also have to consider how much work you’ll miss. Time is money. Jail, court dates, and classes will likely eat into your time at work.

Another consequence is license suspension. You’ll have to arrange for alternate transportation like buses, taxi cabs, or carpooling which can add up to thousands of dollars.

Then there’s the other fees and fines:

DUI Fines

How much is a DUI fine? Fines vary based on an individual basis. Factors like high BAC levels, police reports of intoxication (even if you refuse a breathalyzer), causing an accident, assaults, or property damage can increase these fines.

For one’s first DUI conviction, fines can be anywhere from $150 to $1,800 or more.

Legal Fees

For a first-time DUI, the fees associated with a DUI attorney vary between $1,500 to $15,000, depending on the complexity of the case and if it goes to trial.

Then there are sentencing fees which cost around $100 to $250. Probation fees can cost anywhere from $200 to $1,200.

You’ll also have to pay for any drug screenings you get as part of your bail or probation conditions. These fees often exceed $100.

Car-Related Costs

When you’re charged with a DUI, your insurance premiums go through the roof. Expect to pay anywhere from $800 to $1,248 more for insurance than you did previously.

Getting your license after a DUI back can cost up to $265.

Many first-time offenders in Texas must install an ignition interlock device onto their vehicles for 6 months. The associated costs range from $500 to $1,500.

Classes

People with DUI convictions usually have to undergo treatment and educational classes. The cost depends on the programs you’re required to take.

The cost of treatment and classes can be anywhere from $1,000 to $3,000.

If You’ve Been Charged With DUI/DWI Get Help Today!

You can’t change the past, but you can do something smart for your future:

Call our Pearland location at (832)-956-1048 or our Angleton location at (979)-472-7012 today!

The experienced DUI Defense attorneys at Scott M. Brown and Associates will get you the best outcome possible, from a plea bargain to reduced charges, or even getting your case dropped altogether.

Share this Post!
Texas Family Law Attorney

Call Us Today!

(979) 652-5246