With severe penalties if convicted, weapons charges in Texas are nothing to take lightly.
Texas grants its residents some of the broadest rights when it comes to carrying firearms and other weapons. That being said, these rights are not without limits. Violation of the state’s laws regarding permissible ownership and carrying of firearms and other weapons can put you up against some serious weapon charges. Penalties range from fines to prison time. All can result in a permanent criminal record. If you have been charged with a weapons offense, contact the tenacious criminal defense attorneys at Scott M. Brown & Associates. Our dedicated team of criminal defense attorneys will help clear you of all charges.
When Is It Unlawful to Carry a Weapon in Texas?
While the state has notoriously permissive weapon laws, it is important to note some of the following restrictions as failure to do so can land you facing a weapons charge:
- You need a license to openly carry your weapon.
- If you are committing a crime, carrying a gun will result in an additional charge.
- Convicted felons are prohibited from lawfully possessing a firearm
- Even if you have a permit to carry a concealed weapon, there are restriction on where you can carry a concealed weapon. For example, you cannot do so on or within 300 feet of school property, amusement parks, hospitals, or official government offices.
Need legal help in Texas?
Be it family law, divorce, criminal defense, or personal injury — our Texas family law attorneys are here to help. We are results-driven, and we work tirelessly for our clients.
Our Houston family law and divorce attorneys have been providing compassionate and personalized legal services in Texas. Scott M. Brown is a certified family law specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
Violating any of the above can land you in serious legal troubles like a charge for illegally possessing or illegally carrying a firearm or weapon. Additionally, Some of the other most common weapons offenses in Texas are:
- Possession of an illegal firearm
- Possession of a prohibited weapon
- Improperly discharging a gun
- Deadly or disorderly conduct with a firearm
Depending on the severity of the charge, you may be facing a Class A misdemeanor with potential penalties of up to a year in jail and fines as high as $4,000. Some weapons charges are even classified as third degree felonies. A third degree felony may result in a criminal sentence of 2-10 years in jail and fines reaching up to $10,000.
Aggressively representing Angleton residents facing criminal weapons charges.
If you are facing a criminal weapons charge, you have a lot at stake. The immediate consequences are severe, but there are also lasting effects that will carry on well into the future. A criminal conviction will be on your permanent criminal record and you will have to report this on potential job and housing applications. Don’t leave anything to chance. Contact our trusted criminal defense attorneys today by calling (281) 612-8241 or go online.