Attorney Protecting Clients Charged with Simple Assault in Galveston County
A simple assault is an action where an offender knowingly, recklessly, or otherwise intentionally causes bodily injury to another person, threatens a victim with imminent bodily injury, or comes into physical contact with another party in a way that the offender knows, or should have known, the victim finds offensive or provocative.
If you are facing a simple assault charge, you are facing criminal penalties that include fines and jail time. Defend your case by working with an experienced criminal defense lawyer to fight the charge in court.
Texas Simple Assault Charges
Not all simple assaults are the same. The victim’s age or occupation and the context of the attack determine how an alleged act of simple assault is charged.
Usually, simple assault that causes the victim to suffer bodily injury is a Class A misdemeanor. However, it can be charged as a third degree felony when the victim is a public servant, such as a firefighter or a security officer at a rehabilitation facility, and the offender attacks him or her while he or she is performing duties related to this role. An attack on a public servant can also be charged as a third degree felony when it is an act of retaliation against the victim for actions he or she took while acting in his or her role as a public servant.
When an alleged simple assault is merely a threat of bodily harm or offensive contact, it is charged as a Class C misdemeanor. When the victim is elderly or disabled, it is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. If the threat is made against an athlete or sports official during a sporting event or in retaliation after performance or calls made during a sporting event, it is charged as a Class B misdemeanor.
Need legal help in Texas?
Be it family law, divorce, criminal defense, or personal injury — our Texas family law attorneys are here to help. We are results-driven, and we work tirelessly for our clients.
Our Houston family law and divorce attorneys have been providing compassionate and personalized legal services in Texas. Scott M. Brown is a certified family law specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
Penalties for a Simple Assault Conviction
The penalties an individual faces for a simple assault conviction depend on the level of the charge he or she is facing.
For a Class C misdemeanor, he or she faces a fine of up to $500.
Penalties for a Class B misdemeanor include:
- A fine of up to $2,000; and
- Up to 180 days in jail.
For a Class A misdemeanor, a convicted individual faces:
- Up to one year in jail; and
- A fine of up to $4,000.
When an individual is convicted of a third degree felony, he or she may be incarcerated for two to 10 years and fined up to $10,000.
Additionally, an individual convicted of simple assault may be required to pay restitution to his or her victim.
Seek Help from a Dedicated Criminal Attorney
When you are facing a simple assault charge, start working with an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible to develop an effective legal strategy for your case. Contact our team at Scott M. Brown & Associates today to schedule your initial legal consultation with us, during which we can answer your questions and advise you through your upcoming interactions with the Galveston County court.