A DUI or DWI charge puts your future in jeopardy. Let our attorneys help.
A DUI or DWI is a criminal charge. If convicted, it will end up on your permanent record. You will likely face substantial fines, maybe some jail time, and also risk loss or suspension of your driver’s license. The stakes are high and the consequences can be long lasting. Do not leave your future up to chance. At Scott M. Brown & Associates, we know the magnitude of what our client’s are up against. We take our responsibility to defend you against all criminal charges very seriously. Providing sound legal counsel and experienced representation, we are here for you every step of the process.
What is a DUI vs. a DWI?
People often use DUI and DWI interchangeably. While both refer to driving after use of drugs or alcohol, under Texas law, there is a distinct difference between the two. DWI, or driving while intoxicated, pertains to a person 21 years of age or older who is operating a motor vehicle while having a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. DUI, or driving under the influence, pertains to a person under the age of 21 who is found to have any alcohol in his or her system when they are pulled over.
A DUI is part of Texas’s zero tolerance policy. If a driver is under 21, it does not matter whether they have been physically or mentally impaired by alcohol consumption. The fact that they are driving with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system is enough to be charged with a DUI. It is also important to note that a person under 21 may also be charged with a DWI if they are found to have a BAC of .08 or higher.
Need legal help in Texas?
Be it family law, divorce, criminal defense, or personal injury — our Texas family law attorneys are here to help. We are results-driven, and we work tirelessly for our clients.
Our Houston family law and divorce attorneys have been providing compassionate and personalized legal services in Texas. Scott M. Brown is a certified family law specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
The two charges also carry different penalties. For a first time DWI offense, you can face:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Jail time between 3 and 180 days
- Loss of driving privileges for up to a year
- If you had a minor child in your vehicle, you may also face a child endangerment charge.
For a first time DUI offense, the individual can receive:
- Fines up to $500
- 60-day driver’s license suspension
- 20 to 40 hours of community service
- Mandatory alcohol awareness classes
Facing a DUI or DWI charge? The time to contact reliable legal counsel is now.
Scott M. Brown & Associates is here for you from the beginning. If you have been charged with a crime, contact us right away so we can start fighting for you and your legal rights. We proudly serve Angleton, Pearland, Houston, and League City.