Reckless driving has serious consequences for convicted motorists. A criminal defense attorney can help you avoid those penalties.
Reckless driving may sound like a minor traffic violation to some, but it is an offense that is taken very seriously in Texas. If convicted, drivers could face jail time, high fines, points added to their driver’s licenses, and increased insurance rates. If it is found that a motorist is a perpetual offender and continues to drive recklessly, he or she may even have his or her license suspended.
Some examples of reckless driving include speeding excessively, driving while intoxicated, and tailgating. Anyone charged with reckless driving must speak with an Angleton criminal defense attorney who can help them beat the charges.
Definition of Reckless Driving
Under Section 545.401 of the Texas Transportation Code, reckless driving is defined as operating a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others. Also, according to the Code, the definition of ‘willful’ is acting deliberately or intentionally, while wanton is considered behaving in a manner that is unprovoked or intentional. A complete disregard for the safety of property is also considered reckless driving.
Need legal help in Texas?
Be it family law, divorce, criminal defense, or personal injury — our Texas family law attorneys are here to help. We are results-driven, and we work tirelessly for our clients.
Our Houston family law and divorce attorneys have been providing compassionate and personalized legal services in Texas. Scott M. Brown is a certified family law specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
Penalties for Reckless Driving
In Texas, reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor offense. As such, a conviction for the offense can include a maximum of 30 days in jail and a maximum fine of $200.
Habitual offenders, or those repeatedly convicted of reckless driving, may even have their license suspended. The Texas Transportation Code defines habitual offenders as individuals with at least four moving traffic violations within a one-year period, or seven violations within a two-year period. Habitual offenders will typically receive a license suspension of 90 days. However, individuals facing suspension may also be able to attend an administrative license hearing to avoid losing their license.
The Points System in Texas
The Texas Transportation Code also outlines the Texas Driver Responsibility Program. When a driver incurs points on their license for offenses such as reckless driving, those points remain on the license for three years. Reckless driving will incur two points on a license, unless the behavior resulted in an accident, in which case, three points are assigned to the license.
After drivers incur six points on their driver’s license, they are required to pay $100. An additional $25 is required for every additional point after the first six. Each year, a driver’s record that includes points is reviewed and if six points remain on that record, the charges will continue to apply for at least one more year.
Facing Reckless Driving Charges? Our Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help
Reckless driving comes with serious consequences that can follow a person for many months, or even years, to come. If you have been charged, call our Angleton criminal defense lawyers at Scott M. Brown & Associates today at (979) 318-3075 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with one of our attorneys. We know how to beat reckless driving charges or get them reduced, so you can avoid the harsh penalties associated with them.