Underage DUI Defense Lawyer in Webster Texas

Skilled Webster Criminal Defense Lawyers

For teenagers, getting their driver’s license gives them additional freedom, eliminating the need to rely on parents for rides to school or social functions. Unfortunately, this increased freedom presents problems for some young people. To protect all drivers from alcohol-related car accidents, Webster aggressively enforces state DWI/DUI laws. If your child is pulled over for drinking and driving, they can face harsh penalties. At Scott M. Brown & Associates, our Webster DUI defense lawyers provide the aggressive legal representation your child needs in this situation. We can help protect their child’s rights, while also helping them avoid a criminal record that could follow them in the future.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws In Webster

Minors are subject to the same driving laws as adults, which include provisions against the use of alcohol behind the wheel. However, whereas adult drivers can face charges of driving while intoxicated (DWI) if they have a blood alcohol content level of .08 percent or greater, those under the age of 21 can face criminal penalties for any amount of alcohol in their system.

Under the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code (Section 106.041), minors can face charges of driving under the influence (DUI) if field tests indicate they have used alcohol or any other intoxicating substance. Penalties for these types of charges can be severe, and require the skill of an experienced Webster DUI defense lawyer to avoid a conviction and a criminal record.

Need legal help in Texas?

Be it family law, divorce, criminal defense, or personal injury — our Texas family law attorneys are here to help. We are results-driven, and we work tirelessly for our clients.

Our Houston family law and divorce attorneys have been providing compassionate and personalized legal services in Texas. Scott M. Brown is a certified family law specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

Penalties for DUI In Texas

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) advises that the penalties minors face for driving under the influence vary according to their age and any prior offenses they may have had. For those under the age of 17, a first or second offense can lead to fines of up to $500, mandatory community service, and attendance at drug and alcohol education classes. For those between the ages of 17 and 20, penalties are more severe and include the following:

  • For a first offense: Fines up to $2,000 and/or a maximum jail sentence up to 180 days;
  • For a second offense: Fines up to $4,000 and/or a maximum jail sentence of up to one year;
  • For a third offense: These are charged as a felony DWI, which carry fines up to $10,000 and up to 10 years imprisonment.

In addition, your child will also face an automatic license suspension, which can range from 60 days to up to six months. These charges will also remain part of their driving record, increasing the cost of insurance, and may also appear on background checks, impacting their career or educational opportunities.

Reach Out To Our Webster DUI Lawyers

DUI charges are nothing to take lightly. Even for underage drivers, the impacts can be severe. If your son or daughter has been charged with driving under the influence, get them the professional legal representation they need and contact Scott M. Brown & Associates today. We can arrange a consultation with our DUI lawyers in Webster, to discuss these charges and your best course of defense.

Texas Family Law Attorney

Call Us Today!

(979) 652-5246